VIRGINIA: County of Lee, to-wit:

At the Called Meeting of the Lee County Board of Supervisors in the Conference Room of the Lee County Courthouse on March 14, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. thereof.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Tina Rowe, Chairman Carl Bailey Jason Crabtree Larry Mosley Charles Slemp, Jr.
MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHERS PRESENT:	C. M. Callahan, Jr., County Attorney Dane Poe, County Administrator
OTHERS ABSENT:	None

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 4:07 p.m.

DECLARATION OF LOCAL EMERGENCY

It was moved by Mr. Mosley, seconded by Ms. Rowe, to adopt the following Resolution. Upon the question being put the vote was as follows.

VOTING AYE: Mr. Bailey, Mr. Crabtree, Mr. Mosley, Ms. Rowe, Mr. Slemp

RESOLUTION DECLARATION OF LOCAL EMERGENCY 12-008

WHEREAS, on the evening of March 2, 2012, a series of strong thunderstorms capable of producing high winds, possible tornadoes, hail and heavy rains moved into Lee County; and

WHEREAS, reports of damaged structures and downed power lines due to high winds and a possible tornado in the Frog Level Community near Ewing were reported to the Lee County E-911 dispatch center; and

WHEREAS, the Lee County Emergency Management Director, in consultation with the Emergency Management Coordinator and local emergency services responders, determined that a local emergency did in fact exist due to reported damages and potential for other storm related damages throughout Lee County; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 44-146.21 of the Code of Virginia, the Lee County Emergency Management Director declared a local emergency at 9:30 p.m. on March 2, 2012; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 44-146.21 of the Code of Virginia, the local governing body is required to confirm the declaration of a local emergency within fourteen days of the declaration;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Lee County Board of Supervisors hereby confirms the declaration of a local emergency on March 2, 2012 for tornado, wind, hail and rain related storm damages in Lee County.

It was moved by Ms. Rowe, seconded by Mr. Mosley, to adjourn. Upon the question being put the vote was as follows.

VOTING AYE: Mr. Bailey, Mr. Crabtree, Mr. Mosley, Ms. Rowe, Mr. Slemp

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD

CLERK OF THE BOARD